Wellness and Mental Health with Regina Casey and Sue MacDonald

Regina Casey and Sue MacDonald talk about wellness and mental health in the video below.

One response to “Wellness and Mental Health with Regina Casey and Sue MacDonald

  1. I don’t feel the doctor actually stated much in her first speech. She merely stated the obvious about what the doctors/medical officials tend to normally. I don’t understand how the pre-mature deaths and disconnection between mental and physical turns into possibly meaning people experiencing weight gain, change in metabolics, etc etc. So she overall said that her as a doctor isn’t tending to poverty, their physical needs, and their isolation?

    > This is absolutely brilliant and took me a bit to comprehend that properly after properly reviewing it. That disconnection of research can definitely be connected through a research of the well known placebo effect along with emotions. The mind and thoughts are most likely in my experience the main connection to pre-mature death of the researched 25 years. I believe this because of the effect my mental stress (due to effective bipolar disorder) and constant overload of my mind (due to psychoticness) has had on my body. It makes me lethargic at times as well as losing 10 pounds within a week – 2 weeks depending on my stress levels. I can only assume this could be the opposite for weight gain like she said. What’s mentioned is mainly due to stress which can enable strong and harsh emotions as well as the odd placebo’d effect for me which definitely happens with aching in my teeth. Since being in the mental health system, I’ve noticed it’s common with other pain in the body as well.

    The main thing that helped me with this was friends, support, love and uplifting and positive emotions which most of the people subject to mental illnesses I’ve met barely have… at all. This is why I believe that the peer support program is an amazing program, to give that support and love and uplifting and positive emotions, and most of all a friend. It helps a lot more than any medication ever could and should be researched 10x more than it is, regarding the emotions. Friendship is a main form of therapy (in my opinion) as well with just talking and laughing and having someone there.

    I went on to watch the video and she concluded that she had already done research for this which is absolutely amazing and heart warming for me. I had been speaking about this to others for the longest time that the spirtual, emotional, financial, etc well being was very crucial to recovery and that it takes certain steps to reach each one of these things, even if they are baby steps. It’s amazing that she had mentioned all the other types of well being crucial to recovery that I had over looked and didn’t think to mention about being part of my recovery. These things were all very true for me.

    It’s also a certain direction you need to go in to reach each of these things in a certain order seeing as you’d have to be emotionally well before you can try to be spiritual, then move on to maybe working towards being financially well.

    Just like I had said in my previous comment below as the doctor said, yeah the peer support program is great and what I didn’t mention was that it gives the peer support worker those resources to use to be there for that person with some activities that may result in being financed.

    Overall I agree with everything the doctor said and with the life I’ve lived while dealing with a mental bipolar disorder with psychotic symptoms. She was very accurate and as expected she had mentioned and researched all different aspects with what she had mentioned.

    I would have rather seen the doctor be interviewed rather than it being a conversation between the two.

    I don’t think Sue Macdonald has done enough research with mental disorders as blunt as that may be. Regina Casey has the research there and it seems like it’s done, and we should learn from that and refine our system as well as re-evaluate a lot of different services. Her research is revolutionary based on how I know the current mental health system is run.

    I’d like to know more clearly what Sue Macdonald is coordinating exactly and if her actual position is mainly for people with mental health, or if it’s just for the community as a whole.

Leave a Comment - We'd Love to Hear from You!

